A fantastic end to teacher appreciation week!

So last night I gave homework, like I sometimes do.  But I flat-out told one of the sections – “I’m not going to put a grade in the gradebook.  So as far as the grade goes, there will be no difference whether or not you do it.  If you do, turn it in tomorrow and I just want to see where we need to spend more time, and where we can move a little faster.”**

To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much.  A solid amount of the students I have is (are?  Am I talking about the students (are) or the group (is)?) taking geometry for the second time.  Not by choice.  Across the board, I can usually count about about a third of my students doing any given assignment on time.

But my smallest class (only 13 students) was the section to which I revealed my secret.  TEN OUT THE THIRTEEN students! And! Yesterday, two people were absent.  So out of the eleven people who knew I gave an option assignment, actually did it.  And we had a really good class about it.

And it was on proving characteristics of quadrilaterals using coordinates of the vertices.  Usually not a topic for which I have a great response.  Fluke?  Or is optional homework really a good route to take?

#MTBoS, what do you think?

**These may not have been my exact words.  It was about 29 hours ago, I may have lost some detail.  But you get the idea…

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

