7000% tip! Or is it?

Otherwise I wouldn’t have anything to write about!  A slow day as far as math teaching goes.  PARCC testing all morning, a shortened schedule due to a pep rally in the afternoon, and covering for a teacher who had pep rally stuff to do came together in the perfect storm of: the only class I saw outside of the standardized testing room I was in was a tenth grade honors English class.  Made for a pretty uneventful day in regards to my own classroom action.

I probably should have been more on my toes about doing mathy things with battle of the classes at the pep rally, but I was more concerned with watching the festivities.  Anyway, on my way home (shh, I took the screenshots in the car) I saw a headline with a number in it.  THREE THOUSAND DOLLAR TIP!

6800 percent

6800 percent

When I got into the parking lot I was curious, “Is  this a normal tip at a crazy expensive restaurant, or did the patron do something really nice?”

Then I saw 6800%.  Holy crap.  If my server is good, I may sport for 25%, maybe 30?  Wow.  Anyway, then the “related headlines” section came up and I saw this:

7000 percent

7000 percent

Did a DIFFERENT person leave a huge tip?  Nope.  Same person.  So which reporter has the better pre-algebra percent skillz?  Stefanie Tuder or Sammy Nickalis?  It’s difficult to see through the “play” icon, but the bill was $43.50 and the tip was $3,000.

This is going to lead to one of my favorite discussions with my class…turns out that the tip was actually almost right in the middle.  6,896.55…%  Here’s the discussion topic:

When is it OK to round our answers?  How far is it appropriate to round?

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

