4 + 2 + 9 = 2^0 * 15.  

Holy moly.  A lot has changed since last time I posted (last June).  I was super excited because I was within a month of marrying the most amazing woman in the world.  We lived in Pennsylvania.  She was ending a long-term substitute position and I was excited to start the next school year with the same school that I was with.

We’re married.  We got the news that I was not returning to the school where I was located (a hard piece of news to hear at the time, but in hindsight it was great).  We packed up and moved about 200 miles south to southern Maryland and we both got contracts to teach in the same county.  We live with our cat and we both have a commute that is shorter than 15 minutes in duration.  Yes, a lot has changed.  And yes, a lot has improved.  Anyway, to the math!

For a long time now, math has interested me.  Abstract thought was the thing to which I could always turn to relax me.  Even in times of complete frustration with whatever it is I am thinking about, I knew at the end of it all, progress didn’t matter.  I was exercising my mind, and it made me happy.  I stand up and talk to my students about the benefits of being passionate about something, and for the past few years I thought that my passion for math was a facade.  It was something that I was supposed to have as a math teacher; how can I teach my students about math if I’m not passionate about it?  So we roll camera starting at 7:30 and cut at 2:15, my acting day is done.  But it wasn’t an act!  I don’t know if I am such a good actor that I became the character I was playing, or if I just never had the stage on which to show my true colors.  Even though the cameras stop rolling* when the school day is done, I find myself talking to myself, my wife, my parents, my sister, my friends…anyone who will listen, and sometimes even those who don’t listen, about math.  The cast of characters in the long and rich history; intriguing problems that I can’t figure out (which is, unfortunately, a large set.  But it keeps me busy; I’m never bored).  How to teach math, how NOT to teach math, how to learn math, how not to learn math. You name it, I’ve had discussions about it. I think my cat even has some opinions on it by this point in time.  But anyway, I am trying once again to start writing about my passion.  But now more than ever, I realize it is my passion.  I’m not just blogging about math because it’s what a math teacher in 2015 is supposed to do.  I’m doing it because the person I am, who also happens to be a math teacher, is truly interested in sharing knowledge, in learning something, it hearing critiques, in finding out what works for some people and what doesn’t.

So, ladies and gentlemen of the blogosphere, today’s the day.  @MisterATHomas has a twitter and a blog and will try to increase his presence and his passion, one post at a time.

If you have been, thanks for reading!

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

