Gee, I’m a Tree!

So, good news!  And it’s two-fold.  Or several fold?  Or just crumpled up in a little ball…

First, it’s August!  My birth month.  Not really unexpected good news, I have come to be pretty good at predicting when this good news will arrive from year to year.

Second, I found out that I will be teaching two sections of Algebra and one section of Honors Geometry.  Yay, yay, and yay!  Though I am admittedly a little nervous about being the only Algebra teacher.  Why?  Well, it’s nothing major.  The set of Algebra Keystone scores is a big focus to a lot of people (internally and externally).  Not that this is a big deal, I’m very confident in what I can do.  I just know that when my learners, at least the ones who have Algebra this coming semester, take the Algebra Keystones, I will feel somewhat (totally?) responsible for the outcome.  I know this is not totally the case — they’ve had years of math before me that led to who knows what, but it’s still something that I think about.  Part of me is very nervous for this, and another part of me is super excited because if the scores improve, I also like to believe I can take at least some of the credit.

Third!  (is that really like saying sixth? [because 3! = 6] ) One of the things that will make it significantly easier for me to teach is (get this!) I  won’t be travelling among classrooms.  That’s fantastic! Though, I was looking forward to presenting the “travelling facilitator” problem to my learners.  At this point I’m pretty sure, but not 100% sure, which room will be mine, but that’s just a small detail that will work itself out.  I can’t wait!  We’ll see if my excitement holds up but I’m pretty confident.  

PS – maybe I should ask to teach statistics?  I’m throwing in words like significant and confident.  The parameters of the school year are August 12 until June 20.  There we go again!  

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

