Panama

So I was just watching a show on the Panama Canal…it said that a staggering 14,000 ships go through the canal each year.  I started thinking about the numbers a little bit and knew that meant between 35 and 40 per day, on average.  

 

Then it was talking about a ship, the Zim New York, that could navigate the trickiest part of the canal in only 3 hours…

THEN…it said that this tricky part was only wide enough for 1 ship to fit through at a time – so one ship going from Caribbean to Pacific meant that no ship could go through it from Pacific to Caribbean simultaneously.  

I was wondering if that meant there are certain days on which only east-to-west travel is allowed, and some days on which west-to-east travel is allowed.  Is there a long caravan of Fishyback container ships travelling in one direction, or is it like yielding over a one-way bridge?  

OR were they only talking about the enormous ships that make up the Panamac class to which the Zim New York belongs?  I have more pressing things to do, but my curiosity is getting the better of me.  (Watch out, River! [she’s my cat])

If you have been, thanks for reading!

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

