law of NUMBERS

130 Entries in, and I must say, the evidence supporting law of large numbers for throwing 5 dice seems pretty conclusive.  The ones and twos seem a bit odd, but they’ll work themselves out as we go along.  In each of my classes, I took a 5 minute “dice break” today.  We rolled dice for a couple minutes and logged the results.  Of course I didn’t think ahead to how long it would take me to enter all these data into Excel, but that’s OK.  I can do lots of things with it.  How many 3-of-a-kinds?  How many Full Houses?  Speaking of which, I’m going to see Bob Saget on July 7th.  How many 4 of a kinds?  5 of a kinds?  Maybe I’ll keep this spreadsheet forever.  I guess over the years I could have a pretty large set of data to analyze…or maybe I won’t.  Who knows.  Goodnight!

Image

PS — What my title was supposed to be…”law of” in little letters, NUMBERS in large letters…”Law of large numbers”

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

