Grocery Store Math

Not the normal “how much will it be after tax?” or “which is the better deal?” questions.  No, I was standing in line at the deli counter…a pound of ham.  She put it on the scale and it was 0.96 pounds.  She cut one more slice and it was 1.01.  20 slices per pound, not too bad.  I asked for half a pound of turkey breast.  She put it on the scale and it was 0.45 pounds.  She cut 3 more, and it was 0.51 pounds.  Hm, 50 slices per pound.  The slices of ham and turkey are roughly the same size…now I knew ham was a denser meat than turkey, but 2 and a half times denser?  I had no idea.  Underneath all those feathers, I thought a turkey was a pretty hefty bird.  Maybe it is as far as birds go, but it’s got nothing on the pig…I bet my ham slices came from Wilbur.  He was some pig…

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

