Maybe it’s a sine…

So how come I never thought of this before?

I was thinking on my way home, if a polygon has many sides…a hexagon has 6, a pentagon has 5…a trigon has 3.  AKA a triangle?  What’s the branch of math that uses triangles a lot?!  TRIGONometry.  Measuring trigons.  Amazing.

On another note, while on a flat surface it’s impossible to draw a “bi-gon,” or shape with only 2 sides, on a sphere it is entirely possible.  It’s called a lune.  Think of drawing lines from the North Pole to the South Pole along two different lines of longitude.  When people tell me “let bygones be bygones,” I think what they really mean is “let lunes be lunes.”  And for that matter, can I just call them a lune-atic?

When something is a forgone conclusion, is that just saying it’s a square (four-gon) conclusion?  And is THAT just saying it’s a conclusion times itself!?  What a radical idea.

 

No…don’t be ab-surd.  All these math words!

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maybe it’s a sine…

  1. xander says:

    My wife always says that the quality of a pun is in the “Oi!” of the beholder. With that in mind… ow!

    xander

Leave a Reply

