What time is it? Time for a new clock.

7:02:48 pm...really?

OK so I posted this on my facebook wall, and asked what time it was.  First comment?  Time to get a real clock.  Second comment (other than my response)?  Universal language, my foot.  Third?  Well, my sister was playing Sherlock and said ” a little after 7:00 (according to your post “about an hour ago near Fleetwood”)”

Note to self.  Wait a few hours before posting pictures of binary clock.  I couldn’t help it, I was so stoked that it was up and running.  I found it odd that I didn’t really need to think too much about setting it.  I thought I’d have to process it for a bit longer before getting used to it.  The bottom row is mesmerizing, it’s the row for seconds, and the ever-changing light pattern is very soothing.  It’s like one of those fountains that plays calming sounds, except for math people.

So I said in December I was going to post a good thing about my days when I post.  Well if you look at my last post, there wasn’t really one.  It wasn’t a negative post, per se, but it didn’t have the apex or the nadir.  So here goes…I may not even put a nadir.  Let’s be like a George Uhlenbeck and put a positive spin on it.  Ok – so he co-discovered electron spin, not “put a positive spin” on it, but good enough.  I’m surprised I knew that.  Oh, Elegant Universe, I never knew how much information I retained.  Anyway, school went pretty well today.  The reviews…eh, they were pretty average as far as reviews go, but I did have several students tell me they “get it now,” after doing more problems.  And another couple say to me that they did their homework and it really helped them understand.  Now, normally I would write something here about how it’s a fairly obvious conclusion that the only way to get better at something is to practice it.  I can watch and listen to my sister playing piano all day long but that still won’t help MY skills, it’ll just prove that she’s good.  But no, I won’t say anything of the sort.  Instead I went with “See!  Now it’s toward the end of the quarter, but keep up the habit for the rest of the year and I bet you’ll see that grade improve quite a bit by June!”  I didn’t think it was profound, in fact as I was saying it, I thought “boy this is cheesy, I should have just said ‘fancy that…doing your homework helps,” but he gave a look like “wow, someone actually believes I can do better,” and it gave me a pretty good feeling.  Not to be all cheesy but that, I think, is why I like to teach.  I mean, other than telling people I have a binary clock.

 

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

