I need 2012’s days to be downward-opening parabolas…

Two-day test tomorrow.  Is that like saying “yesterday test today?”  But it’s Monday!  How can I have a Tuesday test on Monday?  No no silly, it’s tomorrow.  But it’s two days, so on Wednesday, it’s not twosday anymore!  WTF.  Why is this all I can think of posting today?  I’m not sure if that’s a good or a bad thing.

 

Oh — here’s one.  I reviewed with a Jeopardy! (r) type game today.  So I had “MISC” as a category.  That’s where one student went first.  MISC for 100, please.  She did say please, that was nice.

I wrote these 3 expressions on the board and said “evaluate”…what followed is something that I hoped would not be such an issue in Algebra 2, otherwise I would have put it as the daily double or some higher point value.

3^2

-3^2

(-3)^2

9, 9, 9.  That’s what I thought would happen, but I thought the correction would be a simple “nope.  remember ______.”  Instead, it was like a brand new idea to them.  It was a valid question I feel, for the quadratic unit, because if the axis of symmetry is negative, then you’ll need to use the knowledge if f(x) = -3x^2 – 2x + 4…well.  So much for getting through THAT quickly.

Oh well.  If that’s the worst thing I can think of for today, then it’s a success.

I think one of my New Year’s resolutions is going to be…focus on the positive.  Find the apex of the day, not the nadir.  If my days are quadratic functions, I need to hope a is negative.

There will be time I need to just let off some steam.  I’m not sure this is the place to do it.  But it just might be.  However, I will also put a good thing in every day.  About school or not, I am going to be a more positive person.  And no, I don’t mean I’ll just write the same negative thing twice….

How to blog?  Well, I’d link to the original post by Dan Frommer, but what the heck.  I’ll take your advice, Mr. Meyer, and shoot out some links in hopes for more foot/eyeball traffic.  I, too, am lazy.

And — Frommer’s URL is boring.  Meyer, yours is http://blog.mrmeyer.com/?p=12345

And the 12345 is pretty cool.

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

