Blah.

Well, the flowcharts I made were actually very helpful to the kids.  Not surprising.  Take a concept that’s not understood, and make a repeatable process out of it.  I honestly wasn’t sure how it would go, but I had several students ask me if I could make one for each section we do from here on out…I guess.  My issue is a philosophical one.  There are obviously decisions about things that won’t be accounted for in a one-sheet algorithm.  If I introduce something as mechanical as this in the beginning of the section, will I have a class full of mindless drones?  Probably.  But will it matter?  For their brains, yes.  But for test scores?  Damn the test scores!  I want them to learn, not memorize.  But when it comes down to it, I memorize things, but I also know the reason for it.  Is memorization so bad?  Sure, I’ll memorize how to do it.  I guess if I make it such a step-by-step process, they’ll say “can’t I take shortcuts?”  YES!  Please!  Do whatever you have to do!  I don’t know…this is very stream-of-thought tonight, and it seems like I’m on the fence.  In fact, I was making the next section’s flowchart when I decided to write this because I still wasn’t 100% convinced that it is a good idea or not…

Hey bloggoworld, please advise…

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

