Happy 4

Fore?  No, it’s not golfing season.  Four.  Today is 12/3.  Which is 4.  Unless you’re in a part of the world other than the United States.  Then, Happy one-fourth.

But, we’ll go with the original.  Because!  12/3 = 4.  Four consecutive single-digit integers make a true equation!  Any other groups of four consecutives that do that?  0+1+2 = 3.  |-1| + 0 + 1 = 2.

I guess I could get creative and find pretty many.  But, fun to think about anyway.  (For me, at least)  And I’m pretty stoked.

I’m having a hard time this week…there is a pretty abstract concept that we’re doing right now, completing the square.  Which I sort of ranted about last night, but I’m going to continue.  I made a flowchart that can get the students to the answer.  It makes a very repetitive process out of it.  It’s no longer a concept that requires thought, it’s a plug-and-chug equation.  Which is sort of what we’ll get to when I introduce the quadratic formula…and in fact, hopefully some of them will be able to get the formula from the flowchart.  As I write this paragraph, I think I convinced myself that “yes.  I will give them this flowchart.  There are some things that can be processes.”  So be it.  It’s a pretty nice flowchart too, I think.  I should laminate it.  It almost looks like a board game board.  Chutes and Ladders?  Eff that.  Roots and Quadratters.  (Almost ‘quadratics’…a stretch, but it had to rhyme, right?)

Anywho, have a good night.

 

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

