Monty Hall, we meet again…

So I knew in my heart that I needed to really get focused on lesson planning, preparing quizzes, activities, etc…but what the heck, let’s go watch some TV instead.  Why would I possibly watch anything other than Jeopardy! at 7?  Who knows, but tonight I’m glad I did.  It must be fate.  I was flipping through and I saw the title of Mythbusters was “Wheel of Myth-Fortune,” and maybe I thought this was close enough to Jeopardy! to warrant a second look.  What was the first “myth” they looked to confirm or bust?  The Monty Hall problem!  Score.  I gave this as an extra credit assignment a couple weeks ago, and nobody got it right.  Everyone said “stick with the chosen door, there’s a 50-50 shot of winning.”  WRONG.  And if you didn’t believe my mathematical proof, believe the Discovery Channel. I’m hoping this video is available online (for free) before winter break.  I’ll re-visit the problem and say, “see?  The chances of you having to ‘use’ the math in real life is pretty much dependent on you getting onto this type of game show.  But it makes for good entertainment, and that’s pretty valuable in itself, right?”  Or I might just say “I told you so.”  We’ll see how it goes.

I’ll go with door number two.

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

