Parent-Teacher Conferences

As I was sitting through the conferences tonight, I was thinking…

Shouldn’t students be invited to parent-teacher conferences?  Maybe they are at some places, but not where I am.  They have a say in the matter, too, right?  I mean maybe there’s a good reason for him not to do his homework.  Maybe the teacher is downright lying about doing certain things in class.   But who are the parents going to believe, a teacher who has the ability to essentially control a small part of the child’s life, or the child, who has a bad grade in the class and has a history of lying/cheating/stealing…or maybe being completely honest, but is in fact, a child?

I’m not saying I put up a false front for parents at the conferences.  I said it to one of my students today when she asked “does this class make you miserable?” after they wouldn’t shut up after about 3205497830 times of me asking them to.  I said (somewhat sarcastically, but the more I think about it…) “No.  This is my job, not my life.  I love what I do, but I’m not going to let it dictate my feelings.”  Same way with conferences.  I’m doing my job to the best of my ability, so why should I lie to parents about that?  I don’t.  But maybe some people do?  Or maybe the kid just wants to say “but Johnny is very distracting.”  Ok, so we’ll separate the two of you.  Problem solved, A for the quarter, right?

If only…

I think I confused most of the students that I had before lunch.  We had a full day today, and a half day tomorrow.  I wrote on the board “Today is 11/22.  That’s the same thing as 1/2.  So today is sort of a half day, too!”  My bad!

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

