5 =1 ?

If 1 = 5, 2 = 25, 3 = 125, 4 = 625…what does 5 =?

I had kids ARGUING about the answer.  Sweet!  And, when I said “it says it’s 1, right there (pointing at the “1 = 5″)” I had someone say, I think as kind of a smart-aleck(sp?) say “but it says one equals five, not five equals one.”  Now, that came up in all 5 of the sections believe it or not.  BUT!  What didn’t come up except for 8th period…”but you can do that.  if a = b, then b = a.”  Now, she didn’t call  it ‘the transitive property’ but I didn’t care.  I told them what it was.  I don’t want them to get caught up in vocabulary, but just the idea that a connection was made to something WITHIN math classes…ahh it was lovely.

 

***Update — upon reading this again, perhaps I’m glad she didn’t call it the transitive property.  I’d much rather have her use the correct property.  What is it, by the way?

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

