Too Gross…

Two peanuts walked into a bar.  One got out alright, but one was assaulted.  Somehow I ended up in a discussion about the difference between assault and battery in 8th period today.  We were talking about correlations; someone brought up crimes and time in jail, then all of a sudden we’re talking condiments and energy.

It was interesting useful though, and the off-topic discussion wasn’t all that long. Yesterday, I moved the seats into groups.  I know it’s generally a good idea to promote groupwork, but I will admit I was nervous.  It’s a very chatty bunch this year.  But I rolled with it.  And when we were doing problems, a much much higher percentage of the conversations (the ones I heard anyway, but I have pretty good hearing) were about the math at hand.  And the questions that were asked to me were much better than before because I said “I am not answering any questions unless you’ve talked to your whole group and nobody else can help you.”  Out of 4, the chances of SOMEONE knowing how to do a problem is pretty good.  It worked out, I could actually help people with math instead of babysitting.  Score.  Rows may be a thing of the past.  Except in Excel.  I’m going to try out this as a bonus tomorrow — “A mathematician went on a blind date.  After dinner, she went home and decided to make sure the guy knew there would be no second date in the future.  ‘Why not?’ the guy asked…a couple minutes later, he gets a text message that says ‘U R 288’.  What did she mean?”

We’ll see how this goes…

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

