I used my skillz today

I use them every day – so today was no different.  I just thought of using the ‘z’ at the end because one of my students said I had a math teacher swagger.  Whatever that means.  I was digging around my ever-growing library of math books (I need more time in the day, I can’t keep up!  Unless I just ignore planning and grading for a while…there’s an idea) to find a good quote for the board today.  I found one, but now I can’t remember it exactly, because it’s in the book that a student borrowed (sweet!) but that’s okay because I know the gist of it.  It was something about Columbus giving us a new world to conquer by bloodshed, but Galileo giving us a new world to conquer with our minds — which is better?  Sometimes the students ask what they mean, I explain it, then we carry on.  But in one of my classes, there was a discussion.  Before the bell rang.  Continuing into the first couple minutes of class.  Unplanned, but I let it go.  It was a good discussion.

So, meaningful quotes are fantastic.  On another note, thank you to SingingBanana (I recommend his youtube channel) for the Invisible Ghost Ants problem.  Again, the students were thinking!  And I made them write an absolute value inequality for the solution.  And also, they all got a good laugh when I said “check out my pimpin’ cane.”

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

