Students are like branches on a tall tree…

Why?  No, chances are they’re not covered with leaves.  Or needles (hopefully).  Maybe they bark, but that’s not it either.  No matter how hard you try, you just can’t reach ’em all.  The day after I was thrilled because someone figured out the digits of pi poem, I was baffled because on a question where I had a question “What is the inequality of the graph?”  (yes, it was italicized, underlined, and bold on the test…I had a student write “the inequality is two.”  Not just the number 2, which would show me that maybe he just misunderstood the question or something.  No, it was a sentence.  Proof that the underlying connection was not made.  He wrote the WORD inequality, and said it the the SAME THING as the number TWO.  I don’t even know what to say…Except I did just take 5 minutes out of my day to write about it.  Think, people…

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

