Someone reads my quotes, hurrah!

So each day I have a new quote somehow related to math on my board.  Some people comment on them in the moment, but I was never quite sure that anyone read and really thought about them.  Last week when I was going over making different representations of linear relations…graphs, equations, tables, lists of pairs…I was basically saying “look, you can represent it any way you want.  They all mean the same thing.  Prior to this, we were looking at graphs and finding equations, but we can also go ‘backwards’ and do the algebra.  The result will fall right into place on the graph.”  Well, whatever, so I put this quote up…”The discovery in 1846 of the planet Neptune was a dramatic and spectacular achievement of mathematical astronomy. The very existence of this new member of the solar system, and its exact location, were demonstrated with pencil and paper; there was left to observers only the routine task of pointing their telescopes at the spot the mathematicians had marked.” By James Newman.

Right?  They did the math, then just pointed their eyeballs to the sky and eureka, there was a planet.  Well anyway, evidently astronomy is the topic du jour in science class.  Students were studying together in a study hall I help monitor, and when it came time for “when was Neptune discovered?” not only did the boy know 1846, but he ALSO mentioned that they found it using math , not just by guessing where it was.  When asked how he knew that?  “It was on Mr. Thomas’ board last week.”  Warms my heart….

***AND AND AND!!! A second math book (not textbook, but book about math, one of them from here) was borrowed today!  End of Q1 = Thursday.  It only took 40 days, but I’m seeing that I am indeed reaching people.  Sweet

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

