Lesson Planning…

Well, this didn’t work out so well.  I tried doing a mind-map lesson plan a-la some other blog I read (sorry I can’t give credit where credit’s due, I completely forget where I saw it, but I liked the idea and am too tired to search my browser’s history to find it).  I love the idea, and for me it worked out wonderfully.  Administration, not so much.  I defended it to the very end…math blends together, I want to let students run the class as long as I cover the material I need to in a certain amount of time.  If they figure out point-slope before slope-intercept, why should I say “no, we’re getting to that tomorrow, we’ll do it THIS way today.”…Sorry, I can’t answer your related-but-not-exactly-on-point question, it’s not in TODAY’S plan, I’ll get to it tomorrow.  I’m a little frustrated, but not completely disheartened.  I’m still going to make maps for myself to follow, but the “regular” lesson plans for admin to see.  Materials, introductory set, checks for understanding, blah blah blah.  I thought lesson plans were for me to organize my own thoughts.  Boy was I wrong.

OK, here’s the situation, only a few weeks ’til Thanksgiving vacation.  And I’ll just cruise my plans around the mathematics hall…maybe I shouldn’t, yeah, of course I shall.

Day 1 of dog sitting down, success.  She is newly groomed, smells like baking powder or something like that, sleeping on the couch with a full stomach and an empty bladder.  What will tomorrow bring?  A leafy salad.  (lettuce-y) [let us see]…my jokes are getting bad (er)…To set up my computer on the desk here at my mom’s while I house-sit, I had to move a book called “GREAT TRAIN WRECKS of eastern Pennsylvania,” and I half expected to find one of my jokes right inside the cover.  No such luck, maybe I’ll work on publishing a book.  A dog obedience book.  “Great!  Train Rex”  Goodnight, I’m going batty.

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

