One of five…

So I was thinking in the shower this morning (something that I do a lot of -which is why my showers sometimes take too long) that tomorrow is 10-12-11.  The date is three consecutive integers.  Sweet!  I lost my train of thought just now, but how many times will that happen this year?

I think I reached someone today.  I’m not sure if I did a good or a bad thing, but we’re working on slope-intercept form in Algebra 1.  You know, y=mx + b.  Anyway, one guy kid asked me if people who “do math for a job” just make up equations.  I said there’s more to it than that, but simplifying the real world, and proving conjectures were part of it.  He asked what a conjecture is.  I told him about Goldbach’s Conjecture.  Every even integer greater than 2 can be written as the sum of two primes.  Well, he spent the whole rest of the period trying to convince me.  “There are nice examples,” I said, “but prove it.”  I did!  He was getting frustrated, but he was also working pretty hard…

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

