No, they were not ready for perfect numbers

Well, mentally it wasn’t a hard thing to wrap heads around, but the question of “why?” came up a lot…to that I didn’t have a good answer.

We did a transformation activity in class today.  It went well.  While they were doing that, I wrote on the board.  Before I tell you what I wrote, you have to know (to make it funny, or meaningful if not funny) that my pass is a small plastic elephant.  Other teachers have wooden arrows, steering wheels, etc.  I have a small plastic elephant.  I wrote “If you don’t have my pass, your absence from class is irr-elephant.”  Three people laughed.  One of them was the same as the one who got the “only 3 times” yesterday.  3 down, 103 to go.  I did have a girl leave my class today.  So while I didn’t necessarily make any connections, I did up the percentage of the students to which I have.  102 to go!

TWENTY NINE is the only number which is written (in all capitals, and without the hyphen) with as many strokes as its value.  Try it , I did!

Also: play on a calculator.  If you start with any row, column or diagonal, and type it forward and backward to get a 6-digit number (123321, 456654, 789987, 159951, etc…) they are ALL evenly divisible by 37.

29th…what’s special about 29?  It’s part of a Pythagorean triple?  Nah, that’s not interesting enough.  Prime?  Eh, there’s infinite primes.  The strokes-value thing is interesting, but they’ll be too much arguing “but I cross my I,” or “What about the hyphen?” or trivial stuff like that which will take more than the 2 minutes that I want this to take.  Sum of 3 consecutive squares!  2^2 + 3^2 + 4^2 = 4 + 9 + 16.  Maybe I’ll go with that.  In Tarot, 29 is represented by the 3 of Wands.  It infers spiritual power, introspection, reflection and receptivity.  Sweet!  We’re doing transformations in Algebra 2 — reflection?  Boo-yah.  There it is. Goodnight

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

