(March to the negative first) minus one

9/27 tomorrow…that’s pretty exciting, because other than January first and April eighth, there aren’t any other dates that can be expressed as x^2/x^3.  Does that mean tomorrow is March to the negative first?  3^-1…

I coteach one of my classes this year.  It’s going well, but it’s full, there is not one empty seat during class.  We spent 40 minutes after school today making an effing seating chart for the kids.  The class is pretty frustrating, there are a lot of behavior/attention issues.  But there is lots of potential, and for like 5 minutes everyone was working, without any “extra” push from either of us.  We’re hoping a combination of the new seating arrangement and the fact that now they’re a month into high school will lead to more of them same.

On another good note!  (I’m full of good notes today) I wrote the first phrase of Ode to Joy by Beethoven on the board, and had a musically-inclined student transpose it from c-major to b-flat.  Why?  Vertical translation.  You wouldn’t just move one note up or down, it would sound like crap unless you moved it all the same.  You wouldn’t change the x-values.  It would mess up the timing of everything.  It seemed to go past one of my classes, but the other two algebra-2 classes seemed to get the reference.  Hoorah for differentiation.  Two years before calculus!

I’m also well on my way to being as organized as I’ve ever been.  Sometimes I exaggerate, but I legitimately think this will be the most organized EVER.  Maybe that’s why I had the music idea?  I’m just thinking of organs.  What’s next, biology in math?!  I need one CC at the end of e=m, stat!  (get it?  e = mcc … e = mc (squared).  I’m on a roll tonight!

Remember before I said I was going to give it a few hours before I blog and I’ll get more good ideas?  It’s been 12 days and I’m unstoppable!

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

