9/14…

No creative title today.  But at least I had one this time!  I hate to just give a rundown of my day, so I won’t…at least not right off the bat.  I had a heart-to-heart with one of my classes, who were, for the most part terrible during their most recent (formal) assessment.  We’ll see if it sticks.  If not, at least I’ll get good use of my phone – as promised.  The toughest part for me to deal with, both as an educator and a person, is when one girl responded “well my parents don’t care about me, so go ahead and call them.”  Whether this was just the girl’s teenage rebellious “I hate my parents” phase coming out, or the truth, doesn’t matter to me.  How can someone not care for the well-being of their child?  Blah, same as yesterday…I’m not naive; I know it happens.  It’s still shocking to me.

On a better note – it turns out one of my first impressions of a student was wrong.   And this is good news?  Not that I was wrong – it’s only happened once before (I thought I made a mistake – I was wrong.) but that a student who I had written off as one to struggle and never do a thing about it stayed after school for help.  So we’ll see – while it is mildly inconvenient to stay until 4 when I get in at 6:30, I think two things: first, what else do I have to do?  I’d go home and watch Doogie Howser and the Transformers.  Second, it does mean on some level I’m getting through.  I’ve built up enough trust and/or respect to warrant someone staying after school for help.  So I get home a bit later than I’d like?  Oh well.  Still, being home at the same time as bankers and postal workers seems pretty good to me.  Goodnight

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

