So I’m Torn…

So the next sections of the book (in book order) are: intro to radicals, rationalizing denominators, operations with radicals, rules of exponents…

I’m thinking I need to jump to rules of exponents?  If they don’t understand that a radical just another way to write a fractional exponent, then the rules will seem like memorization instead of just an extension of something they know makes sense.  I’ll start with rules of exponents I guess, and see how much of them they remember?  I have 2 sections, I could try one of each?  Is that too much work?  I hate to use my students as test subjects, but that’s what the state does anyway, right?

Well, THIS set of standardized tests don’t do what we want, so let’s make them harder and more frequent so there’s less time to learn the material.  Teachers work well under pressure, maybe students will learn better if they have a high-stakes test!  Or maybe it should be a high-steaks test.  Combining math class and eating.  Well done, Andrew, well done.  (well done?  steak?  see that!)

mmmm steak…

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

