Bonus or Regular?

So should responses to these be a bonus on a quiz, or just part of the quiz?

1 – Algebra is powerful and applicable

2 – Each different representation – graphic, verbal, numberic, and algebraic – has its own strengths and weaknesses

3 – Some algebraic properties appear confusing and unnatural.  Why does Algebra have all these rules to understand?  Why couldn’t the rules just be simpler?

“Each problem that I solved became a rule which served afterwards to solve other problems.”  – Descartes

I think (therefor I am) this will be my standard answer to students when they ask: When will I ever use this?  Not only is it a valid response, but it either a) buys me time to think of a more legitimate answer, or b) passes that responsibility to a future maths teacher.

In any case – I’m pretty happy with my students so far.  They’ve retained more over the summer than I thought.  Or, I planned on them not remembering very much and started too early in the book?  Oh well, I’ll get through what I need to, what’s the harm in strengthening an already semi-solid foundation?

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

