Dada duh-duh-duh, another one bites the dust…

Day 2…lots of pretesting.  I won’t tell you, explicitly, which of my predictions from last night came true, but I will say I spent a significant amount of time thinking about how to go over material that I feel should be known by this point in an academic career.  I guess that’s the nature of the first ______ days/weeks of the school year though.  “You should have remembered this over the summer.”  “Well, I didn’t.”  “Okay, well let’s spend a month reviewing for last year’s final.”

It’s not like it was unexpected, so I wasn’t upset or anything,I guess I just spent more of my time planning for the new exciting stuff so the old exciting stuff was kind of put on the back burner.

I did, however, have a joke in each class that came up in context – I didn’t force it on them (for once!)  One of the problems had a solution that was 0.2.  I asked “What’s another way to say that?” (maybe I did force it on them.  I wouldn’t leave them alone until they said) “Two-tenths”…”too tense?  I didn’t mean to put that much stress on you – it’s only a pretest!”

That’s all.  Goodnight.  Oh yeah, I did get some comments about my door’s sign…

“For the things of this world cannot be made known without a knowledge of mathematics” – Roger Bacon

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

