Day One, Day Won

So pretty much all of the students who I had last year while I student taught remembered and were (or at least seemed) happy that I would be teaching them this year, if only as a long-term sub.  So that was good news.  I slightly modified and gave the Who I Am handout from Dan Meyer as a day 1 icebreaker.  I am looking at and analyzing everything now, but needed a break and came here for that break.

Also, the note cards as their seating arrangement?  Well it worked out nicely – I saw them working out some problems on the board, paper, talking with each other – but I think I’ll have to do a standard alphabetical seating arrangement.  Only because if/when I get observed, or have a sub, or whatever, I’ll need a seating chart.  That’s what will happen tomorrow.  Day 1 stuff on day 2.  I guess what I did today was day 0.  They’ll also get their books tomorrow.  And they don’t know it yet, but they’ll get a pretest, too.  Which is the final of the previous class (slightly altered, of course).  I’m not sure if this is a good idea.  I like to have a barometric reading as to where my students are, but with the curriculum that we have to get through, is it just setting me up for frustration?  Or pleasant surprise?  I’ll hope the latter.  All in all though, a pretty good day.

To do: work on aim with laser pointer…

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day One, Day Won

  1. Pingback: Dada duh-duh-duh, another one bites the dust… | mathteacherextraordinaire

Leave a Reply

