Literacy in Maths Class…What a Novel Concept!

Well I have a link to some of the books I’ve read, and the ones which relate directly to mathematics are going to be in my classroom library.  On a quick tangent – I got a job teaching finally.  I think I posted this before, but this is why I haven’t been here as much recently as I was in July.  Did I really post more regularly in July than June?  I forgot about that question until now!  Anyway, So I’ll be back now – hopefully daily.  In any case, the books which I have in my classroom library will be on loan to the students, and I’m very interested to see if and how many of them actually want to read some of these books.

Very simple signout sheet, and I’m having trouble thinking of how to enforce the due dates.  Basic idea – salary for being a student in my class, fines for being late, bad behavior, etc…charging rent for the seats, eventually letting them buy their seat to stop paying rent.  Who knows.  In any case, I’m thinking the library fines could come out of their monthly salary, if they return them late.  (PS – this was not my original idea.  I haven’t had a thought of my own in years – I just retain a lot, and can pull it from the depths of my mind quickly.  I believe it came from a “Chicken Soup for the _______ Soul” type book – I think it was “for the Teacher’s Soul” but I could be wrong.  Whatever though, I at least tried to give credit, which is more than normal!  Hence, I seem very bright…)

I can’t believe I just admitted that!  Goodnight, and happy birthday to me.

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

