Do not eat

Thinking skills are taught in math class, right?  Evidently not.  I got a phone call today at the pharmacy.  “My name is ______, I picked up a prescription today for a month of _____________ and I was wondering when I could eat again.”

I asked the pharmacist, thinking maybe there was a legitimate reason.  After not knowing of any, I asked what the patient meant.  Was there a reaction?  Feeling sick?  “There was a little plastic thing in my pill bottle that said ‘do not eat’ and I didn’t know how long it meant, and I’m getting hungry”  I laughed a little, still not completely knowing if she was serious or not.  I’m going to assume she was, cause she was old.  And took the time to call the pharmacy about it.  Old people’s time is precious, they wouldn’t waste 5 minutes of their day if not serious.  Anyway, I laughed.  Then said “ma’am, it means do not eat the little thing.  It’s something that they put in the bottles to keep moisture from getting to the tablets.”  She laughed too after I explained it to her, with the familiar ending phrase: well it’s a good thing I checked.  Good for a laugh.  At least there’s that…

Two jokes almost guaranteed to get a giggle…

If I have 5q and I add another 5q, what do I have?  10q.  You’re welcome.

What’s 1 divided by 5?  One-fifth.  What’s another way to say it?  (Keep badgering them until they say “two tenths.”)  Sounds like you need a massage!

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

