Hello world!

Why are numbers beautiful? It’s like asking why Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony is beautiful. If you don’t see why, someone can’t tell you. I know numbers are beautiful. If they aren’t beautiful, nothing is.

—Paul Erdös

I know this is a pretty common quote.  As it should be.  I think more people should feel the same appreciation.  When I share quotes like this with my students, the first thing they ask – almost without fail – is “who is he (or she)?”  If at any point in my answer, I say “a mathematician,” they immediately discard it as a little novelty.  Well of course he thinks math is beautiful.  That’s his job.

I’m just going to make this blog about my classes.  Or about little things that I learn about math.  Or that I already knew, but find interesting.  Or life?  Or whatever.  Time will tell.

Nothing too much tonight, I’m bored and watching the Sixers.  The Phillies aren’t on tonight.  Why not?  I have no idea, but it seems there will be an interesting Economics/Math post about it in the near future if I am forced to watch basketball instead of baseball for very much longer.  Cheers!

About Mr. T

Well, I'm interested in math. Teaching it, learning it, describing it, living it. Creating it. Most importantly (to me) is helping others appreciate it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in another day another riiyal.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

